Tracks Of The Week: No Windows, SpaceAcre and more

No Windows by Rory Barnes

No Windows by Rory Barnes


Edinburgh duo No Windows are streaming their new song No Clue (Green Song).

17-year-old multi-instrumentalist Morgan Morris and 18-year-old vocalist Verity Slangen began writing music whilst still at school, this track emerging as they moved on from that significant stage.

“When writing No Clue, I was entering a new stage of my life,” Slangen explains. “I had just finished school and the seasons were changing.”

Killer Mike has shared a new solo single entitled Talk’N That Shit!.

“The song is self-explanatory,” he said. “With the video I wanted show the freedom and beauty in being able to turn up in spite of all the fuck-shit. That upsets the bourgeoisie even more – in spite of all your criticisms, we’re gonna live free and stay lit.”

As well as the production credits, Talk’N That Shit! opens with a cameo from Jamie Foxx, keeping the collaborations going after the July single RUN featured contributions from Dave Chappelle and Young Thug.

The return of Hundred Reasons will take in a brand new studio album next year.

Glorious Sunset has been pencilled in for release on February 24th, and is being previewed now with a video for its title-track.

“When we started writing again, it was really important that we did not go back to any material that had been cut previously,” Colin Doran said.

Algiers have shared another track from their new album SHOOK which has now been confirmed for release on February 24th, 2023.

Irreversible Damage boasts a guest turn from Rage Against The Machine frontman Zack De La Rocha – indeed, the album is packed full of collaborations and was introduced last month with Bite Back, that one featuring billy woods and Backxwash.

“Ryan showed up one day with this beautifully epic instrumental and said, ‘I’ve got this song and I want to call it ‘Bite Back’,” singer Franklin James Fisher said of it.

Some of Radiohead drummer Philip Selway’s favourite musicians feature on his new solo album Strange Dance.

Hannah Peel, Adrian Utley, Quinta, Marta Salogni, Valentina Magaletti and Laura Moody all accepted invitations to appear on the record, which Selway says is him, ‘a 55-year-old not trying to hide that fact’.

“It feels kind of unguarded rather than seeing that ageing process as something that needs to be hidden,” he continues.

Fucked Up have confirmed the details of their new album One Day.

The title relates to the recording approach of guitarist Mike Haliechuk who, with the idea of seeing, ‘what I could record in one day’, completed the initial work during the course of three eight-hour sessions.

The title-track is out now with a video directed by Colin Medley. “When I first heard One Day, it sounded to me like a song about two people overcoming all odds to find love and happiness with each other,” Medley said.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra have premiered their new single I Killed Captain Cook.

The track is out with news of the band’s first UK tour in four years – it will take place during May and June next year, and is to include an appearance at the Brixton Academy in London.

Before then, a tour of North America is booked for the spring, with two nights coming up at Webster Hall in New York.

IDLES have remixed Florence & The Machine’s Dance Fever album track Heaven Is Here; the band’s guitarist Mark Bowen explaining that the record is, ‘quite a cathartic one for me’.

“Speaking a lot to the yearning for the release of performing but also introspecting on the need itself,” he added. “It lives on the line of tension between the need for release and getting it (is that not the best bit?) no more is this encapsulated on Heaven Is Here. I wanted to sit with that tension but then also lavish in the release on this remix.”

“It might be strange for people to think but I see a lot of symbiosis in what we do in terms of live performance,” Florence continued.

Phoebe Little and Jas Scott are following on from their 2020 debut SpaceAcre EP Overthrown with the new single Familiar.

“Familiar is a non-romantic heartbreak song,” the duo say. “It’s about a family relationship that you’re determined to make work, though you know you’re leaving yourself open to getting hurt repeatedly.”

“Sometimes you can be prepared for what someone says and yet it still cuts through your armour anyway, even if it’s unintentional.”

Victoria Bergsman has ended a four-year break from Taken By Trees by unveiling a mini-album of Colin Blunstone covers.

First up from Another Year is the Denny Laine-written Say You Don’t Mind, recorded with a cast of collaborators including Peter Bjorn and John.

“I needed to get a band together,” Bergsman reflected. “I’d moved back to Stockholm, so I knew who I wanted to work with.”

The Men are back with the new single Hard Livin’ ahead of the release of their ninth record New York City on February 3rd next year.

“Hard Livin’ is a song trying to find a way to adjust between requesting G-dly intervention and reconciling the fact that we are largely alone,” Nick Chiericozzi said.

“Hard Livin’ is livin’ hard. It’s something people go through and that in fact, besides our beginnings and endings, might be our single most shared experience.”

Learn More