The National remaster early releases for three reissues next year

The National performing at Leeds' First Direct Arena. December 2019. (Scott Smith for Live4ever)

Matt Berninger with The National performing at Leeds’ First Direct Arena. December 2019. (Scott Smith for Live4ever)

The National will take a fresh look at the work which preceded their 2005 breakthrough Alligator.

It took four years of persistence before The National could believe they were getting the attention they deserved; still longer before the Top 10 successes and Grammy nominations which they’ve become accustomed to today.

But the EP and two LPs which laid the groundwork for Alligator can still be described as some of their best, and it’s those which will be remembered early next year with a series of multi-format reissues.

2001’s self-titled debut album, its 2003 follow-up Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers, and the Cherry Tree EP of 2004 have all been remastered at Abbey Road for new releases on February 26th 2021, each available on CD, black vinyl and digitally.

The National tracklist:

1. / A1. Beautiful Head
2. / A2. Cold Girl Fever
3. / A3. The Perfect Song
4. / A4. American Mary
5. / A5. Son
6. / A6. Pay For Me
7. / B1. Bitters & Absolut
8. / B2. John’s Star
9. / B3. Watching You Well
10. / B4. Theory Of The Crows
11. / B5. 29 Years
12. / B6. Anna Freud

Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers tracklist:

1. / A1. Cardinal Song
2. / A2. Slipping Husband
3. / A3. 90-Mile Water Wall
4. / A4. It Never Happened
5. / A5. Murder Me Rachael
6. / B1. Thirsty
7. / B2. Available
8. / B3. Sugar Wife
9. / B4. Trophy Wife
10. / B5. Fashion Coat
11. / B6. Patterns Of Fairytales
12. / B7. Lucky You

Cherry Tree EP tracklist:

1. / A1. Wasp Nest
2. / A2. All The Wine
3. / A3. All Dolled-Up In Straps
4. / A4. Cherry Tree
5. / B1. About Today
6. / B2. Murder Me Rachael (Live)
7. / B3. Reasonable Man (I Don’t Mind)

Learn More