Manchester band Magic Roundabout’s ‘lost’ debut album gets release date

Magic Roundabout

The Magic Roundabout single Sneaky Feelin came out on Third Man earlier this year.

After their ‘lost’ debut single was unearthed by Pale Saints’ Ian Masters and later remastered by Warren Defever for Third Man, a full length album from Magic Roundabout is to be released on September 24th.

Before Masters and Third Man got involved, Magic Roundabout’s output had been restricted to a sole inclusion on Mark Webber of Pulp’s Oozing Through The Ozone Layer cassette compilation back in the 1980s.

But now, 1987 studio recordings which never saw the light of day for reasons lost to history have been brought together by the same team behind Sneaky Feelin’s release, Up previewed today with the track which long ago appeared on that Oozing Through The Ozone Layer collection, She’s A Waterfall.

“Imagine you’re growing up in England in the mid-1980s,” Webber says. “Not much to hope for, but at least we had music. In towns all across the country, isolated pockets of teenagers are discovering The Velvet Underground.”

“Searching for radical role models in the present, some of us devotees of Spacemen 3; others align with The Jesus and Mary Chain. Something was happening. We all formed bands, and Magic Roundabout are one of those that showed so much promise.”

“We all had dreams. Some dreams take longer to come true.”

Learn More