Beck unveils ‘Morning Phase’ tracklist


Beck‘s forthcoming album ‘Morning Phase‘ has had its 12-song tracklist confirmed.

The running order includes the songs ‘Waking Light‘ and ‘Blackbird Chain‘, both of which are thought to have been recorded in Nashville with Jack White. ‘Morning Phase’ is described as a ‘companion piece of sorts’ to 2002’s ‘Sea Change‘ and features contributions from the likes of Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Joey Waronker, Smokey Hormel, Roger Joseph Manning Jr. and Jason Falkner – all of whom also played a part in that record.

“It’s not heavy-handed, but it’s in there,” Beck has said of the LP’s running theme, which deals with the mindset of early morning. “There’s this feeling of tumult and uncertainty, getting through that long, dark night of the soul – whatever you want to call it. These songs were about coming out of that – how things do get better.”

‘Morning Phase‘ tracklist:

‘Heart Is a Drum’
‘Say Goodbye’
‘Waking Light’
‘Don’t Let It Go’
‘Blackbird Chain’
‘Evil Things’
‘Blue Moon’
‘Turn Away’
‘Country Down’

Learn More


Leave a Reply