September 10th, 2020

The National‘s Matt Berninger releases latest solo track One More Second

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 10:05am

The National‘s Matt Berninger has shared another new track in anticipation of the release of his debut solo album on October 16th.

Permalink  |  Tagged with: ,

Hotel Lux – Ballad Of You & I

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 8:31am

Permalink  |  Tagged with:

Bruce Springsteen announces new E Street Band album Letter To You

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 8:22am

Bruce Springsteen will release a new album with the E Street Band on October 23rd.

Permalink  |  Tagged with: ,

Album Review: Doves – The Universal Want

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 7:54am

There’s naught more fraught than the comeback album. Despite the fact that Doves never officially broke up back in 2010 (their last appearances together were to promote the best of album The Places Between), the relief and excitement was palpable when they announced a series of gigs last year, and a new album felt inevitable.

The atmospheric opening to Carousels ably builds tension, with a shuffling drum-loop pilfered from the late, great Tony Allen and an overall hurdy-gurdy feel that befits the title. It’s vibrant and crisp, and as such sets the tone. Similarly, later on Mother Silver owes a debt to Afrobeat, all percussive energy and funk.

Back to the top, I Will Not Hide sustains the atmospheric start with swampy bass and the trademark guitar lines which form a structure around the melody. It was quite apparent when listening to the Jimi Goodwin solo and the Black Rivers albums (Jez and Andy Williams’ project) who contributed what to Doves, and the latter pair’s soundscapes sit better alongside Goodwin’s melancholy tones.

Permalink  |  Tagged with: ,

Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs release Hell’s Teeth from Viscerals album

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 7:18am

Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs have made Hell’s Teeth the latest single from this year’s Viscerals album.

Django Django return with new single Spirals

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 6:58am

Django Django have released Spirals as their first slice of new material since the Winter’s Beach EP of 2018.

Permalink  |  Tagged with: ,

Gorillaz unveil Robert Smith collaboration, full Song Machine album tracklist

Posted on 10 Sep 2020 at 6:45am

Strange Timez, Gorillaz‘s collaboration with Robert Smith and the latest from their Song Machine series, has been revealed.

Permalink  |  Tagged with: , ,


News Archive

September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun