The Who announce new album, UK and Ireland arena tour

The Who by Rick Guest

Rick Guest

Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend have confirmed their first Who album in thirteen years for release on November 22nd.

Simply titled Who, the album is being trailed by first single Ball And Chain. “This album is almost all new songs written last year, with just two exceptions,” Townshend reveals.

“There is no theme, no concept, no story, just a set of songs that I (and my brother Simon) wrote to give Roger Daltrey some inspiration, challenges and scope for his newly revived singing voice. Roger and I are both old men now, by any measure, so I’ve tried to stay away from romance, but also from nostalgia if I can.”

“I didn’t want to make anyone feel uncomfortable. Memories are OK, and some of the songs refer to the explosive state of things today. I made new home studio demos of all these songs in the summer of 2018 using a wide collection of instruments old and new.”

“We started recording as The Who in March 2019, and have finished now in late August just in time to make some vinyl…maybe even some cassettes…ready for release in November.”

A UK and Ireland arena tour has also been detailed, starting in Manchester on March 16th, 2020.

Tour dates:

16 – Manchester, U.K, Arena
18 – Dublin, IRE, 3 Arena
21 – Newcastle, U.K., Utilita Arena
23 – Glasgow, U.K., The SSE Hydro
25 – Leeds, U.K., First Direct Arena
30 – Cardiff, U.K., Motorpoint Arena

1 – Birmingham, U.K., Resorts World Arena
3 – Nottingham, U.K., Motorpoint Arena
6 – Liverpool, U.K., M&S Bank Arena
7 – London, U.K., The SSE Wembley Arena

Learn More


Leave a Reply