Manic Street Preachers, Gruff Rhys lead Welsh Music Prize shortlist


Perennial favourites Manic Street Preachers and Gruff Rhys are among those nominated for the 2014 Welsh Music Prize.

The Manics make the shortlist with their excellent ‘Futurology‘ LP, while Gruff Rhys must surely be ranked as the favourite thanks to his multimedia storyteller ‘American Interior‘. Others likely to be high up in the judges’ thoughts include Cate Le Bon, Future Of The Left and Joanna Gruesome.

That judging panel consists of Helen Weatherhead (BBC 6Music), Sian Rowe (XL) Folu Babatola (Red Bull), Owain Schiavone (Y Selar), Teleri Glyn Jones (Juxtaposed), Laura Snapes (NME), Ben Lovett (from Mumford & Sons), producer David Wrench and Xenomania’s David Wrench.

Welsh Music Prize 2014 shortlist:

9Bach – ‘Tincian’
Cate Le Bon – ‘Mug Museum’
Euros Child – ‘Situation Comedy’
Future Of The Left – ‘How To Stop Your Brain In An Accident’
Gruff Rhys – ‘American Interior’
Gulp – ‘Season Sun’
Joanna Gruesome – ‘Weird Sister’
Manic Street Preachers – ‘Futurology’
Samoans – ‘Rescue’
Slowly Rolling Camera – ‘Slowly Rolling Camera’
The Gentle Good – ‘Y Bardd Anfarwol’
The People The Poet – ‘The Narrator’

Learn More

Leave a Reply