Biffy Clyro, Chvrches, Steve Mason lead 2014 Scottish Album Of The Year longlist

Chvrches live in London (Photo: Andy Crossland for Live4ever Media)

Chvrches live in London (Photo: Andy Crossland for Live4ever Media)

The longlist for the third annual Scottish Album Of The Year Award has been revealed, with the likes of Biffy Clyro, Chvrches and Steve Mason leading the way.

Biffy Clyro are in the running thanks to their double LP ‘Opposites‘, while Chvrches are nominated for their debut ‘The Bones Of What You Believe‘ and Steve Mason is rightly recognised for his brilliant ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time‘ album.

Voting on the longlist will commence on April 28th, with the most popular albums whittled down to a shortlist that is set to be announced on May 29th.

The overall winner then collects a cheque for £20,000 on June 19th.

Scottish Album Of The Year Award longlist:

Adam Holmes and the Embers – ‘Heirs and Graces’
Adam Stafford – ‘Imaginary Walls Collapse’
Biffy Clyro – ‘Opposites’
Boards of Canada – ‘Tomorrow’s Harvest’
Camera Obscura – ‘Desire Lines’
Chvrches – ‘The Bones Of What You Believe’
Dunedin Consort (Dir. John Butt) – ‘J. S. Bach: Six Brandenburg Concertos’
Edwyn Collins – ‘Understated’
Frightened Rabbit – ‘Pedestrian Verse’
Hector Bizerk – ‘Nobody Seen Nothing’
Kid Canaveral – ‘Now That You Are a Dancer’
Mogwai – ‘Les Revenants’
Rick Redbeard – ‘No Selfish Heart’
RM Hubbert – ‘Breaks & Bone’
Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire – ‘Roddy Hart & The Lonesome Fire’
Scottish Chamber Orchestra (R. Ticciati) – ‘Berlioz: Les Nuit D’été’
Scottish National Jazz Orchestra – ‘In The Spirit Of Duke’
Steve Mason – ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time’
The Pastels – ‘Slow Summits’
Young Fathers – ‘Tape Two’

Leave a Reply