The UK’s Sharks unveil new track & album details


The UK’s Sharks today released a new track entitled “Sunday’s Hand” from their much-anticipated new album Selfhood, which is due out on April 30th via Rise Records.

Selfhood is the follow up to their 2012 relaease No Gods, which NME called, “joyous blue-collar punk from Leamington Spa… a starry-eyed celebration of yearning on a US factory floor, as idealised by British spa town punks.”

The band previously released the album’s single “Portland“, which can be heard here.

Selfhood was recorded in just two weeks in Southampton, UK at The Ranch studio and channels influences from the likes of The Smiths, Richard Hawley and The Cribs. This new release expands on the explosive punk-meets-Brit-pop anthems on No Gods, and showcases a more mature and solid live band – a result of endless international touring in support of past releases.

“I wrote most of the lyrics in a room above a morgue in which I lived with my fiancée for about five months,” said Mattock. “The place was an old Victorian building with no heat, running water, or bathroom. It wasn’t even legally residential. A lot of what I was going through around this period is channeled in the lyrics. These are the most intimate and personal songs I’ve written – thus Selfhood is the most fitting title.”

Selfhood track listing:

1. Selfhood
2. Your Bloody Wings
3. Portland
4. I Won’t Taint
5. The More You Ask Me, The Less I’m Sure
6. Sunday’s Hand
7. 22
8. Pale
9. Gold
10. Room With A Grey View
11. My Wild One

Learn More


Leave a Reply