Weezer Confirm New Album Release Date



Weezer have finally given fans a piece of official news regarding their new album.

In a short announcement on their official website, the band, which consists of Rivers Cuomo (vocals, lead guitar), Patrick Wilson (drums), Scott Shriner (bass) and Brian Bell (rhythm guitar), said: “People, its official: Weezer’s upcoming 7th studio album (title, details, etc to be announced) is set for release October 27th, 2009!”

Fans of the band have been starved of concrete information on the new album since reports first surfaced in November 2008 that they had begun to record new material with U2 and Bloc

Party cohort Jacknife Lee. However, these claims were dismissed by guitarist Brian Bell shortly afterwards. “Someone jumped the gun,” he said. “We’re still going to focus on promoting the ‘Red’ album, and when we have the songs and the time feels right, we’ll record.”

In July this year, Weezer premiered three new songs while performing at the Jisan Valley Rock Festival in Korea. The songs played were called ‘Can’t Stop Partying‘, ‘I’m Your Daddy‘, and ‘The Girl Got Hot‘. It remains unclear as to whether any of these tracks will be included on the new record.

The group are currently on a large US tour with reformed band Blink 182, which began in July and runs through until October.

Weezer cover Kids by MGMT, Pokerface

Learn More


Leave a Reply