Live4ever’s New Tunes Guide feat. Mystery Twins, Ghost Ship and more

By Live4ever - Posted on 21 Dec 2013 at 4:39am

Mystery Twins and Ghost Ship are the final New Tunes Guide highlights of 2013.

Doug Lehmann, on guitar/vocals, and Stephanie Brush on drums/vocals are the Mystery Twins. The duo have been playing together for over a decade as one half of The Clutters, and have caught the attention of Jack White’s Third Man label who will include their track ‘The River’ on the ‘Poetry Sucks!’ anthology early next year. Ghost Ship hail from London and currently have three songs to peruse on Soundcloud.  They describe themselves as, ‘A bedroom recording project spiralled into an alternate reality where imagination ran riot’.

These and eight other picks of the week can be found by scrolling through our latest collection, and you can catch up with all our previous editions by clicking on the New Tunes Guide logo below. Merry Christmas!

Ed Zealous take influence from the likes of seminal legends David Bowie, Talking Heads and Pulp alongside contemporaries such as A-Trak, Boys Noize and TV On The Radio. The band kicked off 2013 by supporting Two Door Cinema Club, sharing the stage with Wonder Villains, taking part in Glasgowbury followed by the release of their debut single ‘Medicines’ on Fierce Panda/ Fandango label. Ed Zealous’ upcoming new single ‘Diamonds For Eyes’ was produced by Eliot James, whose body of work includes collaborations with Bloc Party, Noah and The Whale and Does It Offend You, Yeah?. It will be available for sale and download 20th January.”

Henry Blacker are a three piece featuring two members from Hey Colossus, and a brother on the drums – they shall unleash their debut LP on 20th January 2014 on Riot Season (UK) and Learning Curve (US). Having written acres of material, the band selected ten songs (and later whittled it down to eight) to record at Dropout Studio, Camberwell, South London, with Mr. Westminster Brown (Part Chimp) at the controls.”

Mystery Twins are out of Nashville, TN. They’ve just released their debut album ‘Ghost In The Ground’. The duo consists of Doug Lehmann on guitar/vocals and Stephanie Brush on drums/vocals. They’ve been playing together for over a decade as one half of The Clutters. ‘The River’ will be included in the upcoming ‘Poetry Sucks!’ anthology/compilation which Third Man Records is putting out early 2014.”

Department M announce the release of their self-titled mini album through Fierce Panda. Led by Owen Brinley, formerly the frontman of Grammatics, the Leeds-based quartet are headlining a free entry show at The Old Blue Last on Friday 10th January.”

Blimp Rock announce the release of their debut music video ‘The Love That Treats You Right’. They feature members of Rouge and Forest City Lovers. The band’s self-titled debut was released in May 2013.”

“In the spring of 2011, the foundation for Tiger Waves was laid online between two songwriters — James Marshall in Austin, Reid Comstock in Chicago. Tiger Waves is a band born of dropboxes, email attachments and CD-Rs and while the two principal songwriters living 1,000 miles apart. After Reid relocated to Austin, the duo expanded into a quartet, adding Tyler Wharen and Joshua Kerl. On December 17th, Tiger Waves release their debut single ‘Weekends’.”

Baywaves released their first auto-produced tracks ‘To The North’ and ‘Figures’ back in May, and now have recorded a 4-track EP. ‘Dreaming’ is the first single from it.”

Army Of One is a band hailing from London. Silva (vocals) Steffen (Guitars) Marcin (Bass) and Danny (Drums) came together in August 2013 after Silva read a three month old ad Steffen had placed online looking for a singer. By the end of the summer, the band were well into rehearsals, recording songs independently and began playing live.”

Ghost Ship started out as a bedroom recording project. Now, the group are looking forward to releasing their first single next year. The song featured is entitled ‘Mind Control’.

“Brixton band The Melodic premiere the video for their first single ‘Runaway’, released on 23rd December 2013, taken from their debut album ‘Effra Parade’ out on 17th March 2014. Their first UK show will take place on 9th January 2014 at the Old Queen’s Head, London. After signing to U.S label Anti Records (home of Tom Waits, Tinariwen, Calexico), The Melodic moved from their home in Brixton, London where the album was recorded, to live in L.A and New York.”

Just Published:
AdvertisementPretty Green

Site & Facebook Comments:


Popular Videos

Spector - 'Cocktail Party' / 'Heads Interlude'

Noel Gallagher - 'Cast No Shadow'

Gengahr - 'Fill My Gums With Blood'

Ben Harper feat. Charlie Musselwhite - 'I Don't Believe a Word You Say'