Live4ever’s New Tunes Guide feat. The Altered Hours, play_rewind_eject and more

By Live4ever - Posted on 24 Aug 2013 at 4:49am

The Altered Hours and play_rewind_eject offer up the highlights for the latest edition of Live4ever’s New Tunes Guide.

The Altered Hours hail from Ireland and are making the short journey across to the UK next month when they have gigs booked with Singapore Sling. On September 26th they will be at Sticky Mikes in Brighton, and also have a show booked at the Waiting Room in London a day later. ‘Smoke Your Eyes’ is taken from the band’s recent self-titled EP and displays a stomping, cross-gender harmonic sound that’s not a million miles away from Live4ever favourites Band Of Skulls.

play_rewind_eject is more conventionally known as Suffolk-based singer songwriter Pete Thompson, who after ten years of touring with his band Hayze is now on his fourth release since going solo. The EP ‘Maryland’ was released earlier this month on Oh Mercy! Records, and is the follow-up to the 2012 album ‘Back to Forward’.

These and eight other picks of the week can be found by scrolling through our latest collection, and you can catch up with all our previous editions by clicking on the New Tunes Guide logo below.

The Altered Hours are a band from Ireland who are heading to the UK in the autumn to play some shows. A self titled EP was released in April through A records. On September 26th they play Sticky Mikes in Brighton with Singapore Sling and on September 27th play the Waiting Room in London UK, again with Singapore Sling.

Lola King and The Kickstarts, an indie band based in London. Last year they were selected by BBC Introducing to play at Hackney Weekend and have been played on Radio 1, BBC 6, BBC3 and Ch4. Second single ‘The Great Divide / I Don’t Care If You Say I’m Going Nowhere’ is released on September 2nd.”

“NYC ‘global soul’ artist Tomas Doncker‘s last release, a Howlin Wolf tribute, was featured twice in The Huffington Post, Indecent Xposure, and even the official Howlin Wolf website. Tomas is performing at SummerStage Festival 2013 in NYC a total of 11 times this year. The new EP ‘Power of the Trinity​.​.​.​A Slight Return’ is being released in support of The Studio Samuel Foundation’s 1Hundred Girls Impact Plan (, a charity that supports young women in Ethopia.”

Jingo started in February and are a trans-Atlantic 4-piece alt-rock band from London. They are Jack Buckett, his U.S. wife, Katie, Joseph Reeves and latest addition, Sahil Batra. The four have been making music with other bands in Brooklyn, New York and London for a fair few years. Eager to get their new project on the go they supported Graham Coxon of Blur as their first gig in March 2013.”

“On 30th September 2013 The Agency… will release ‘Sad Parallel’, their second single from their forthcoming second album ‘Of Ghosts’, which has a tentative release date of November 30th. The new single follows the late April release of ‘She/The Temple’. ‘Sad Parallel’ will be released through Solarbear Records and was recorded, mixed and produced at Newcastle Music Box by Garry Cosgrove, who is working on the full album.”

Moodoid’s debut EP has been mixed by Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker, and is out September 9th on Les Disques Entreprise, the exclusive French imprint of the Paris-based Third Side Records.”

“It wasn’t long ago that Russian Gun Dogs were writing and rehearsing in bedrooms. They got to record their songs with Gavin Monaghan (Editors, Robert Plant, Ocean Colour Scene) producing, and also stepped from the bedroom to gigs with Spector, Maximo Park, The View, The Subways, Reverend and The Makers, The Pigeon Detectives, Twisted Wheel, Ash and more. They end this month outdoors again; 30th August Lainfest, Atherston having recently played the main stage of Britain’s biggest free music event – Godiva Festival.”

Face Of God is a rock trio from Helsinki, Finland, formed in 2010. At the end of 2010, the band had their first recordings done in the legendary Seawolf studio in Suomenlinna, Helsinki. Their upcoming gigs in September include London shows at The Workshop (20), Rattlesnake of Angel (24) and the Rhythm Factory (25).

Mister Loveless is a four-piece rock band founded in 2003 by a group of friends (Rob Miller, Charlie Koliha, Daniel Brown and Nick Clark) in the sleepy suburbs of Walnut Creek, CA. The video for ‘Curfew; filmed in the dark streets of San Francisco, has been playfully described by the Perez Brothers as, ‘A fairy tale film noir’.”

“After almost 10 years playing in a rock band I had a mountain of untouched songs, ideas and lyrics that I really wanted to work on,” enthuses Pete Thompson who writes, records and performs under the name play_rewind_eject. “I didn’t want to make music that just sounded the same as the band I was in so I took an adventure into the world of samples, midi and synths to create something a little bit different.” The free ‘Never Before but Maybe Again’ album and ‘Chelsea Bikes’ EP were released as free downloads by Oh Mercy! Records and are available from”

Just Published:
AdvertisementPretty Green

Site & Facebook Comments:


Popular Videos

Noel Gallagher - 'Cast No Shadow'

Green Day's Billie Joe freaks out at iHeartradio Gig

Gengahr - 'Fill My Gums With Blood'

Cashier No9 - 'Oh Pity'