Live4ever’s New Tunes Guide feat. Kill For Company, Sparrow & The Workshop and Moriaty

By Live4ever - Posted on 09 Feb 2013 at 7:03am

Live4ever’s New Tunes Guide highlights start off this week with Kill For Company – a Manchester duo who have gone and invented a ‘Guibass’ for themselves and in doing so concocted a groove heavy spiral which gradually commands attention and results in a very impressive EP. Sparrow & The Workshop release their new single ‘Shock Shock’ through independent label Song By Toad Records on March 11th and can count the likes of British Sea Power and Thee Oh Sees as touring partners, while Moriaty show off a juicy, full of flavour rock sound on their new single ‘Mindsweeper’. They promise a face melting live show, and on the basis of this track, it’s hard not to believe them.

Check out previous editions of the New Tunes Guide here.

Freddie and the Hoares have been gestating for a few years and were finally born in early 2011. The merry bunch play their own raucous brand of Folk ‘n’ Roll – featuring close harmonies, accordion, violin, double bass and poetic lyrics.
The band released their studio produced debut 7-song EP ‘Robin on a Pig’s Back’ at Rough Trade stores and all digital platforms. The band have been headlining steadily since 2011 at terrific London venues like The Blues Kitchen, The Half Moon Putney, Spice of Life, the Bedford and the Camden scene.”

Robin on a Pig’s Back by Freddie and the Hoares

“Guitarist and songwriter John Smith returns in 2013 with his third studio album, the sparsely beautiful Great Lakes, released on March 25, 2013. Having supported Richard Hawley on tour through December 2012, John will be embarking on headline shows through 2013, including a sold-out date at London’s St Pancras Old Church on January 31 and London’s Purcell Rooms on March 25.”

Heartbeat Union started off in late September last year as an acoustic duo with soulful, powerful vocals and rhythmic driven acoustic guitar. They have been growing to play gigs, record 2 tracks and also have a session recorded by PL Media.”

Long, Long Time by Heartbeat Union

Four Phonica is the emotional energy of rock music filtered through cold electronic sound. Despite having a wide following in their homeland, members of two accomplished Ukrainian acts – Sexinspace and Marakesh (called by Billboard Russia as ‘solid and manifestly eclectic sound’), joined forces for a new line up that brought them to Berlin. The video for Divine will be released in March 2013. Currently Four Phonica is putting the finishing touches to the debut EP to be released in April 2013.”

Four Phonica – Divine (FREE DOWNLOAD) by FourPhonica

After the online success of their debut video ‘Titan’, Brighton 3-piece The Physics House Band give the track away for free as they announce their signing to Pink Mist label Blood and Biscuits. They have also confirmed a full UK tour for April.”

“Introducing The Fat White Family, a band who’ve crawled out from the crevices of Peckham and Brixton to find gourmet burger bars, designer prams and soulless gastropubs taking over the town. Faced with the yuppie invasion their sole purpose is to cause havoc and deliver something real. The first insight into the world of the Fat Whites is the video for their single Cream Of The Young, directed by Robert Rubbish, will be available from the 18th February on Trashmouth Records and their album Champagne Holocaust is due out in April.”

Cold Mailman have five out of six members hailing from the city of Bodø, way above the polar circle, based in the buzzing music industry of Oslo. They have now premiered new single and video My Recurring Dream. The video is directed by André Chocron, Norway’s most praised music video director at the moment.”

Cold Mailman – My Recurring Dream by Beyond Records

“The return of Sparrow & The Workshop is upon us. March 11th sees the Glasgow-based trio release their latest single ‘Shock Shock’ through independent label Song By Toad Records. Having supported the likes of Brian Jonestown Massacre, British Sea Power, the Lemonheads and Thee Oh Sees and taken to the stage at Glastonbury, Green Man and Bestival to name a few, the band are seasoned performers.”

Sparrow and the Workshop – Shock Shock by Song, by Toad

“London trio New Ivory released their album, Amygdala Circus on Dim Mak Records on February 5th. The band has been described as a mixture of New Wave, Psychedelic and Punk. When compared to their first EP Arrows and Slings, the band stated, “it still has all of the catchy hooks we previously had but we’ve matured and crafted an album full of singles and pop-rock songs, still maintaining our British sound.” The band is made up of members Mickey (vocals, lead guitar), Alessandro (bass) and Andy (drums).”

New Ivory – Day By Day by Dim Mak Records

“Fans of subtle, original folk music can rejoice as Welsh roots artists Little Arrow return with a new album. Having found fans at BBC Radio Wales & Amazing Radio, Little Arrow are now looking to continue their momentum with the new LP. Further pedigree can be found with producer Luke Neuman, a sound engineer previously worked in movie sound design including Sherlock Homes.”

Little Arrow – State of You and Me by bubblewrap.collective

“Devon’s own two-piece Moriaty have spent the past 2 years honing their song-craft and melting faces with regular gigs in the SW, Bristol and London, and the band are now ready to hit the road in 2013. The band released their debut EP ‘Lord Blackwood’ in late 2011 and followed up with a free EP ‘Never Too Heavy’ in late 2012. They are now working with John Cornfield (Muse, Stone Roses, Supergrass, Athlete) on follow up material. Moriaty are currently promoting their new single ‘Mindsweeper’ which is due for release on the 15th of February as a free download.”

“Toronto/New York based singer-songwriter Emilie Mover will release her latest album Mighty Time on April 2, 2013 in Canada through Nevado Records (Bahamas, Library Voices, Yukon Blonde). Mighty Time, the follow-up to 2011’s Seem So Long, showcases a far more eclectic side of the velvety-voiced Mover.”

“Lo-Fi alternative rock duo Michael Banfield and Mark O’Donoughue have now freshly signed to Manchester’s independent label, Longevity Records with big plans set for the near future. Kill For Company distinguished themselves from the ordinary after Michael developed what Mark calls the ‘GuiBass’. Yes, it is a guitar with the low end strings replaced by that of a bass guitar, cross-channelled through a lead and bass amplifier. Creating the sound of a much bigger band with only two members. The discovery of the GuiBass added such depth to their sound that they gained good recognition from many leading names on the local scene. They have already been favoured by Michelle Hussey at BBC Introducing and been played by the likes of ManchesterRadioOnline, North Manchester FM, Amazing Radio, Salford City Radio, Pure FM and NRK (Radio 1 Norway), before signing to Manchester’s leading independent label.”

Th3 Reunion is an Indonesian indie rock band from Jakarta, Indonesia, formed in 2004. The band consists of Al Syandra Maris (lead vocal and bass guitar), Tommy Erlangga (guitar) and Alde Sinaga (drums).”

Just Published:
AdvertisementPretty Green

Site & Facebook Comments:


Popular Videos

Gengahr - 'Fill My Gums With Blood'

Noel Gallagher - 'Cast No Shadow'

Spector - 'Cocktail Party' / 'Heads Interlude'

Hey Sholay - 'WDYRWMTB'